LIBREVILLE, September 26 (Infosplusgabon) - President Biden has announced this Tuesday the inaugural members of the President's Advisory Council on African Diaspora Engagement in the United States. The establishment of this Council was a significant commitment announced by Vice President Harris on behalf of the Biden-Harris Administration during the 2022 U.S.-Africa Leaders Summit, aimed at enhancing dialogue between United States officials and the African Diaspora.

The African Diaspora in the United States, a rich and diverse community of African Americans and African immigrants, is foundational to our 21st century partnership with Africa. This community, which includes descendants of enslaved Black Americans, has long advocated for the prosperity of the African continent and its people, and strengthened the unique relationship between the United States and Africa.

In accordance with Executive Order 14089, the Advisory Council comprises up to 12 members appointed by the Secretary of State, and represents the diversity of the African Diaspora from African American communities around the United States and African immigrant communities across the continent and the Caribbean. The Council's members include individuals who have distinguished themselves in government, sports, creative industries, business, academia, social work, and faith-based activities. They will provide invaluable guidance to reinforce cultural, social, political, and economic ties between the U.S. and Africa, and promote trade, investment, and educational exchanges between the United States and Africa.

Rev. Dr. Silvester Scott Beaman will serve as Chair of the Council. Bishop Beaman's extensive experience and deep roots in Africa will enable him to lead the Council to achieve its full potential.

The members of the Council for the 2023-2025 term are:

MemberSilvester Scott Beaman of Delaware, Chair

Mimi E. Alemayehou of Washington, D.C.,

Rosalind Brewer of Georgia, Member

Viola Davis of Rhode Island, Member

Helene D. Gayle of Georgia, Member

Patrick Hubert Gaspard of New York, Member

C.D. Glin of Connecticut, Member

Osagie Imasogie of Pennsylvania, Member

Almaz Negash of California, Member

Chinenye Joy Ogwumike of Texas, Member

Ham K. Serunjogi of California, Member

Kevin Young of Washington, D.C., Member

FIN/INFOSPLUSGABON/APR/GABON2023

© Copyright Infosplusgabon